Smoked Turkey Legs

Smoked Turkey Legs

So I have gotten way behind in my posting, this is going to happen from time to time as I have a love hate relationship with the computer.  Spending all week in front of it sometimes I really don’t want to pick it up on the weekend.  So I wanted to smoke something different and I saw that Stop and Shop had turkey legs on sale for some really cheap price, I think it was $1.99 a pound.  First thing is first you have to put the turkey legs in a brine, I made a simple one equal parts salt and sugar.

2012-12-02 09.02.17

I put them overnight in a brine and then let them out on a wire rack for a few hours in the fridge.  The fridge will get them nice and draw which will allow the rub to really stick.    2012-12-02 09.15.28

1 tablespoon paprika
1 tablespoon dark brown sugar
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
Rub with the above spice rub and oil.

2012-12-02 09.54.03

Throw it on the smoker I did 275 but next time I am going to try 300.  After about 2 hours it will look like the below.

2012-12-02 13.09.43

Pull them after the thermometer reads 180 be careful you do not hit the bone when gauging the temperature if you hit the bone it will read much hotter than what the meat is.

2012-12-02 13.09.39

2012-12-02 13.12.42

They came out pretty good, the meat was perfect but the skin was very chewy and leathery.  I think possibly basting with oil half way through might also help get a crispy skin.  Over all they were pretty good but not quite perfect.  Next time I am going to increase the temp and hope that helps the skin.

Leave a Reply

